English | Français

Démographie

Depuis janvier 2011 la municipalité de Varadero (Péninsule Hicacos) a été abolie and incorporée à la municipalité voisine de Cardenas.

Population

La Péninsule Hicacos elle-même (ville de Varadero et ses plages) a une population d’environ 8,000 habitants et couvre 14.4 km carrés, et la population totale de la municipalité de Cardenas est d’environ 20,000 habitants et couvre 32 km carrés.

Composition ethnique

65% d’origine Espagnole (blanc), 25% mixe (mulâtre), 10% d’origine africaine (noir) et moins de 1% d’origine asiatique. Indice de développement humain: 0.782 (2012).

Langue

La langue officielle est l’Espagnol mais l’Anglais (et parfois d’autres langues comme le Français, l’italien, l’Allemand, ...) est compris et parlé par plusieurs cubains qui travaillent dans le secteur touristique.

Éducation

L’éducation est une priorité du gouvernement cubain depuis plusieurs décennies, en résulte un niveau de scolarité parmi les plus élevé des Caraïbes et de l’Amérique Latine, ainsi qu’un taux d'alphabétisation de 99,8% (au dixième rang mondial). Le système d’éducation est universelle et gratuite à tous les niveaux et obligatoire jusqu’à la neuvième année.

Santé

La santé publique fût au sommet des priorités gouvernementales depuis la Révolution. Le système de santé est universel et gratuit, et même si parfois le manque de fournitures persiste, il n’y a par contre aucun manque de personnel médical, un médecin par 300 habitants. L’espérance de vie à la naissance est de 78 ans. Le taux de mortalité infantile est de 5.13 par 1000 naissances

Religion

Cuba est un pays laïc prônant la liberté de religion. Les religions catholique et afro-cubaine sont prédominantes.

English | Français

Demographics

Since January 2011 the municipality of Varadero (aka the Hicacos Peninsula) was abolished and incorporated into the neighbor municipality of Cardenas.

Population

The Hicacos Peninsula itself (Varadero town and beach area) has a population of about 8,000 and covers 14.4 square km (5.6 square miles), and the total population of the municipality of Cardenas is about 20,000 and covers 32 square km (12.4 square miles).

Ethnic Composition

65% Spanish descendants (white), 25% mulattos and mixed, 10% African descendants (black) and less than 1% Asian descendants. Human development index: 0.782 (2012).

Language

Official language is Spanish but English (and sometimes other languages such as French, Italian and German) is understood and spoken by many Cuban who work in the tourism industry.

Education

- Education has been one of the government's priorities for many decades, resulting in having one of the heist levels of education and school attendance in the Caribbean and Latin America, and a literacy rate of 99.8% (tenth-highest globally). The school system is free at all levels and compulsory through the ninth grade.

Health

Public health has also been a top priority of the Cuban government since the Revolution (1959). Cuba has free and universal health care and although shortages of medical supplies persist, there is no shortage of medical personnel, one doctor per 300 inhabitants. Life expectancy at birth: 78 years. Infant mortality rate: 5.13 per 1,000 live births.

Religion

Cuba is a secular country with freedom of religion. The Catholic and Afro-Cuban religions are predominant.